Tourist Development Council Meeting Minutes February 26, 2025, at 2:00 PM Brevard County Government Center, Viera

The Tourist Development Council met on February 26, 2025, at 2:00 PM at the Brevard County Government Center in Viera. Members present included Chair Rob Feltner, Julie Braga, Alex Litras, Mayor Andrew Connors, Larry Jarnes, and Mayor Rob Medina. Members absent were Vice Chair Tom Hermansen, Wayne Soard, and Keith Winsten. Staff present included Justin Caron from the County Attorney's Office, along with John Giantonio, Laura Beebe, Deborah Webster, Angela Essing, and Juawana Brooks from the Tourism Development Office.

Guests present included Dave Berman from Florida Today.

Roll Call

Approval of Minutes

Action: The Board approved the January 22, 2025, Tourist Development Council minutes.

Result: Approved Mover: Larry Jarnes Seconder: Julie Braga Ayes: Mayor Connors, Braga, Jarnes, Litras, and Chair Feltner Absent: Vice Chair Hermansen, Wayne Soard, Mayor Medina, and Keith Winsten

Mayor Medina arrived at 2:09 PM.

STR Report / Tourist Tax Revenue Report

Giantonio reported that RevPAR serves as an indicator of progress. In January 2024, the RevPAR was \$95.28; this January 2025, it had risen to \$100.57. The December Tourist Tax Collection Revenue totaled \$2,010,118. The fourth quarter showed a 10% increase compared to the previous year. January and February appear to be weaker than the previous year, March will be key to the quarter's overall performance.

Budget Report

Giantonio updated the committee on the fiscal year FY 2024-25 TDT Budget Report.

Giantonio stated that Peter Cranis was unable to attend and had extended his apologies.

Chair Feltner expressed optimism about the economy, stating that summer travel could result in a strong season for the tourism and hotel industry.

Braga noted that the hotel industry had become more unpredictable and inconsistent compared to previous years.

Sub-Committee Appointments

Giantonio informed the committee that they would review each present committee member's sub-committee representation and vote on the appointments. He also mentioned that he would speak on behalf of absent committee members and facilitate a vote on their representatives.

Chair Feltner's sub-committees:

- Beach Improvement Committee: Laurilee Thompson
- Marketing Committee: Heather Lewis

Mayor Medina's sub-committees:

- Beach Improvement Committee: Hunter Joslin
- Marketing Committee: Christina Born

Mayor Connors's sub-committees:

- Beach Improvement Committee: Lilly Galleo
- Marketing Committee: Amy Matthews

Larry Jarnes's sub-committees:

- Beach Improvement Committee: Michelle Tracy
- Marketing Committee: Jeannette Jarnes

Julie Braga's sub-committees:

- Beach Improvement Committee: Julie Braga
- Marketing Committee: Pam Rothenberg

Alex Litras's sub-committee:

- Beach Improvement Committee: Gwen Peirce
- Marketing Committee: May Fleming

Action: Braga motioned to approve the sub-committee appointments as presented. Mayor Medina seconded the motion.

Result: Approved Mover: Julie Braga Seconder: Mayor Medina Ayes: Mayor Connors, Braga, Litras, Mayor Medina, Jarnes, and Chair Feltner Nays: None Absent: Vice Chair Hermansen, Wayne Soard, and Keith Winsten

Absent TDC Members' Sub-Committee Appointments

Wayne Soard's sub-committees:

- Beach Improvement Committee: Gina Parrish
- Marketing Committee: Howard Schwartz

Tom Hermansen's sub-committees:

- Beach Improvement Committee: Tom Williamson
- Marketing Committee: Tom Hermansen

Action: Mayor Connors motioned to approve the absent TDC members' sub-committee appointments as presented. Jarnes seconded the motion.

Result: Approved Mover: Mayor Connors Seconder: Larry Jarnes Ayes: Mayor Connors, Braga, Litras, Mayor Medina, Jarnes, and Chair Feltner Nays: None Absent: Vice Chair Hermansen, Wayne Soard, and Keith Winsten

Public Comment

Mayor Connors thanked attendees and expressed hope for a strong tourist season.

Jarnes highlighted the growing popularity of downtown Cocoa Beach and its exciting upcoming projects. We have very high hopes for this area.

Mayor Rob Medina provided an update on the upcoming ribbon-cutting ceremony for Palm Bay Sacrifice Park, scheduled for March 28, 2025, at 9:00 AM. He requested that Peter Cranis extend the invitation to the previous TDC members that were involved in the grant - he reminded the group that the TDC had contributed a \$250,000 grant toward the park.

Chair Feltner inquired whether events would be held at Sacrifice Park.

Mayor Medina confirmed that events would be planned but noted that the ribbon-cutting would be held separately from the annual memorial service. He explained that the wreathlaying ceremony to honor fallen officers would still take place on April 23, 2025, as it has every year. The separate timing allowed for both occasions to be properly recognized.

Action: Braga motioned to adjourn the meeting. Mayor Medina seconded the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 2:13 PM.