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Brevard County Planning and Development 
Development Services 

2725 Judge Fran Jamieson Way, A114 
Viera, FL 32940 

Phone: 321-633-2187  
Email: Building.Licensing@BrevardFL.gov

Owner/Builder Application for Contractor Exemption  

Florida law provides for certain exemptions to the requirements for use of licensed contractors for 
regulated construction activities to include provisions for property owners to act as their own contractor 
under certain limited conditions. The Owner-Builder exemption reads as follows: 

Florida Statute Chapter 489.103(7) 

(a) Owners of property may act as their own contractor and provide direct, onsite supervision themselves 
of all work not performed by licensed contractors: 

1. When building or improving farm outbuildings or one-family or two-family residences on such 
property for the occupancy or use of such owners and not offered for sale or lease, or building or 
improving commercial buildings at a cost not to exceed $75,000, on such property for the occupancy 
or use of such owners and not offered for sale or lease. In an action brought under this part, proof of 
the sale or lease, or offering for sale or lease, of any such structure by the owner-builder within one 
year after completion of same creates a presumption that the construction was undertaken for 
purposes of sale or lease. 

2. When repairing or replacing wood shakes or asphalt or fiberglass shingles on one-family, two-
family, or three-family residences for the occupancy or use of such owner or tenant of the owner 
and not offered for sale within 1 year after completion of the work and when the property has been 
damaged by natural causes from an event recognized as an emergency situation designated by 
executive order issued by the Governor declaring the existence of a state of emergency as a result 
and consequence of a serious threat posed to the public health, safety, and property in this state. 

3. When installing, uninstalling, or replacing solar panels on one-family, two-family, or three-family 
residences, and the local permitting agency’s county or municipal government is participating in a 
“United States Department of Energy SunShot Initiative: Rooftop Solar Challenge” grant. However, an 
owner must utilize a licensed electrical contractor to effectuate the wiring of the solar panels, 
including any interconnection to the customer’s residential electrical wiring. The limitations of this 
exemption shall be expressly stated in the building permit approved and issued by the permitting 
agency for such project. 

4. When completing the requirements of a building permit, where the contractor listed on the 
permit substantially completed the project as determined by the local permitting agency, for a one-
family or two-family residence, townhome, or an accessory structure of a one-family or two-family 
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residence or townhome or an individual residential condominium unit or cooperative unit. Prior to 
qualifying for the exemption, the owner must receive approval from the local permitting agency, and 
the local permitting agency must determine that the contractor listed on the permit substantially 
completed the project. An owner who qualifies for the exemption under this subparagraph is not 
required to occupy the dwelling or unit for at least 1 year after the completion of the project. 

(b) This subsection does not exempt any person who is employed by or has a contract with such owner 
and who acts in the capacity of a contractor. The owner may not delegate the owner’s responsibility to 
directly supervise all work to any other person unless that person is registered or certified under this 
part and the work being performed is within the scope of that person’s license. For the purposes of 
this subsection, the term “owners of property” includes the owner of a mobile home situated on a 
leased lot. 

(c) To qualify for exemption under this subsection, an owner must personally appear and sign the building 
permit application and must satisfy local permitting agency requirements, if any, proving that the 
owner has a complete understanding of the owner’s obligations under the law as specified in the 
disclosure statement in this section. However, for purposes of implementing a “United States 
Department of Energy SunShot Initiative: Rooftop Solar Challenge” grant and the participation of 
county and municipal governments, an owner’s notarized signature or personal appearance to sign the 
permit application is not required for a solar project, as described in subparagraph (a)3., if the building 
permit application submitted electronically to the permitting agency and owner certifies the 
application and disclosure statement using the permitting agency’s electronic confirmation system. If 
any person violates the requirements of this subsection, the local permitting agency shall withhold 
final approval, revoke the permit, or pursue any action or remedy for unlicensed activity against the 
owner and any person performing work that requires licensure under the permit issued. The local 
permitting agency shall provide the person with a disclosure statement in substantially the following 
form: 

Disclosure Statement 

1. I understand that State law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor and have 
applied for an owner-builder permit under an exemption from the law. The exemption specifies that 
I, as the owner of the property listed, may act as my own contractor with certain restrictions even 
though I do not have a license. 

2. I understand that building permits are not required to be signed by a property owner unless he or 
she is responsible for the construction and is not hiring a licensed contractor to assume 
responsibility. 

3. I understand, as an owner-builder, I am the responsible party of record on a permit. I understand 
that I may protect myself from potential financial risk by hiring a licensed contractor and having the 
permit filed in his or her name instead of my own name. I also understand a contractor is required by 
law to be licensed in Florida and to list his or her license numbers on permits or contracts. 
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4. I understand that I may build or improve a one-family or two-family residence or a farm 
outbuilding. I may also build or improve a commercial building if the costs do not exceed $75,000. 
The building or residence must be for my own use or occupancy. It may not be built or substantially 
improved for sale or lease, unless I am completing the requirements of a building permit where the 
contractor listed on the permit substantially completed the project. If a building or residence that I 
have built or substantially improved myself is sold or leased within 1 year after the construction is 
complete, the law will assume I built or substantially improved it for sale or lease, which violates the 
exemption. 

5. I understand that, as the owner/builder, I must provide direct, onsite supervision of the 
construction. 

6. I understand that I may not hire an unlicensed person to act as my contractor or to supervise 
persons working on my building or residence. It is my responsibility to ensure the persons whom I 
employ have the licenses required by law and by County or municipal ordinance. 

7. I understand that it is a frequent practice of unlicensed persons to have the property owner obtain 
an owner-builder permit that erroneously implies the property owner is providing his or her own 
labor and materials. I, as an owner/builder, may be held liable and subjected to serious financial risk 
for any injuries sustained by an unlicensed person or his or her employees while working on my 
property. My homeowner’s insurance may not provide coverage for those injuries. I am willfully 
acting as an owner-builder and am aware of the limits of my insurance coverage for injuries to 
workers on my property. 

8. I understand that I may not delegate the responsibility for supervising work to a licensed 
contractor who is not licensed to perform the work being done. Any person working on my building 
who is not licensed must work under my direct supervision and must be employed by me, which 
means I must comply with laws requiring the withholding of federal income tax and social security 
contributions under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA) and must provide workers’ 
compensation for the employee. I understand my failure to follow these laws may subject me to 
serious financial risk. 

9. I agree that, as the party legally and financially responsible for this proposed construction activity, 
I will abide by all applicable laws and requirements that govern owner-builders as well as employers. 
I also understand that the construction must comply with all applicable laws, ordinances, building 
codes, and zoning regulations. 

10. I understand that I may obtain more information regarding my obligations as an employer from 
the Internal Revenue Service, the United States Small Business Administration, the Florida 
Department of Financial Services, and the Florida Department of Revenue. I also understand I may 
contact the Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board at (850) 487-1395, or 
www.myfloridalicense.com for more information about licensed contractors. 
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11. I am aware of, and consent to, an owner/builder building permit applied for in my name and 
understand I am the party legally and financially responsible for the proposed construction activity 
at the following address. 

Street Address       City      State    Zip    

12. I agree to notify the Brevard County Building Code Division immediately of any additions, 
deletions, or changes to any of the information that I have provided on this disclosure. 

Licensed Contractors are regulated by laws designed to protect the public. If you contract with a person 
who does not have a license, the Construction Industry Licensing Board and the Department of Business 
and Professional Regulation may be unable to assist you with any financial loss that you sustain as a result 
of a complaint. Your only remedy against an unlicensed contractor may be in civil court. It is also 
important for you to understand that if an unlicensed contractor or employee of an individual or firm is 
injured while working on your property, you may also be held liable for damages. If you obtain an 
owner/builder permit and wish to hire a licensed contractor, you will be responsible for verifying whether 
the contractor is properly licensed and the status of the contractor’s workers’ compensation coverage. 

Before a building permit can be issued, this disclosure statement must be completed and signed by the 
property owner and returned to the local permitting agency responsible for issuing a permit. A copy of the 
property owner’s driver license, notarized signature of the property owner, or other type of verification 
acceptable to the local permitting agency is required when the permit is issued. 

Owner/Builder Signature:          Date:      

State of Florida, Brevard County 

Subscribed and sworn to before me, by means of physical presence  or online notarization  

This day    of    the year    personally appeared      

who is personally known to me or produced     as identification, and who did/did not 

take an oath. 

Notary Public Signature                 Seal
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